Tai chi and personal development

I do tai chi to help discover what kind of person I am. Limitations, strengths, talents. How I used to be and am now. Practice may not make it any easier to gain a clearer picture, but it’s a method that carries me down the path. It’s a challenge, but I learn serenity in the face of adversity that helps me withstand the blows I feel upon realizing I haven’t done as well as I could have—out of lack of information, or knowledge, to outright ignorance and laziness. Taking it personally to a point of negligence slows down learning. To tell myself that I’m good at what I do, or that I’m doing well doesn’t make it happen. Only through honest practice does it evolve.

Leave a Reply

