About me

I have studied Chinese internal martial arts since 1999, primarily taijiquan (Wu, Chen, Yang Panhou). Complementary training in varying degrees includes: Lan Shou Quan (Southern Shaolin and Cao Quan section of form), Xing Yi Quan, Tong Bei Quan, Hun Yuan Qigong (some Hua Gong and “primordial” qi), Ba Gua, and Liu He Ba Fa. I have traveled often to train with many teachers, primarily San Francisco, California and Shanghai, China; but also, El Paso, Washington, DC, and Los Angeles.

I have received numerous certificates of achievement for Qigong Instruction and Internal Martial Art Instruction.

My practice has been regular and sustained, which I believe is most important for receiving the greatest benefits of practice. I train in Durango, Colorado where I also teach taijiquan basics to a few dedicated practitioners. I am affiliated with Shanti School of Taijiquan (shantischool.com) and the World Association of Chinese Internal Martial Arts (wacima.com). See durangotaichi.com for my lineages and other info.

I founded Durango Tai Chi Instruction in response to a need where I live for a chance for others to learn authentic taijiquan. My China lineage holders, Master Xu Guo Ming (George), along with my first teacher Susan A. Matthews, have held strongly to the internal secrets of the art of movement of the taiji. They openly and freely share their knowledge. I hope the same for myself.

I like to write, and feel natural writing about tai chi, so I started this blog as a way of giving back to the world for what others have graciously given to me. This is the way of taijiquan.

Tim Richard, Instructor
Durangotaichi.com

5 thoughts on “About me

    1. That’s wonderful to hear. The latest from Master George is what he calls his “Ling Cong Shen Shi Men.” You can find a brief clip describing it at MastersFromChina. com. A longer video is available, too. Nice to meet someone else in Germany who knows my teacher!

      Like

Leave a Reply

